If you are shopping for car insurance, we want you to be protected from “cut-rate” insurance scams that don’t provide the coverage you need. Arm yourself with the facts.
Here are a few important tips.
Know the law. Texas law requires people who drive in Texas to pay for the accidents they cause. Most drivers do this by buying auto liability insurance. You must buy at least the minimum amount of coverage. The minimum liability limits are $30,000 for each injured person, up to a total of $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage per accident. This basic coverage is called 30/60/25 coverage.
Know your rights. Texas has a Consumer Bill of Rights for auto insurance. Your insurance company must send you a copy with your policy. Read it to understand your rights and responsibilities under Texas law.
Know your needs. Not every driver needs the same types of coverage. It’s very important to know what’s right for your individual situation when you are shopping. If you own your car outright, finding an affordable liability policy may be what’s best for your budget. If you are still paying for your car, make sure you know what your bank or lender requires. Because of car prices and the high cost of medical care, the minimum amounts might not be enough to pay all of the costs you’re responsible for if you’re at fault in an accident. You must pay the costs above your insurance limits. Consider buying more than the basic limits to protect yourself financially.
Obey the law. There are penalties for breaking the state’s financial responsibility law. A first conviction will result in a fine between $175 and $350. Additional convictions could result in fines of $350 to $1,000, suspension of your driver’s license, and impoundment of your car. TexasSure is a verification system that tells law enforcement and county tax officials whether or not you or the car you’re driving has auto liability insurance. Police can use TexasSure when they pull you over to check if you or the car you’re driving are insured. TexasSure helps reduce the number of uninsured vehicles in Texas. An estimated 4 million vehicles–one in five–on Texas roads are uninsured. TexasSure also helps prevent the use of counterfeit proof of insurance cards and helps stop people from getting insurance so that they can get their car inspected or registered, and then canceling their insurance afterward.
Research the market and ask around. There is plenty of information online for you about car insurance. Some of it is accurate, but a lot of it isn’t. You owe it yourself to compare several quotes. If you aren’t sure about coverage limits, consult a local insurance expert who can answer your questions.
Always drive safely. If you want to keep your rates as low as possible, keep your driving record clean. Drive defensively. Pay attention to road conditions. Keep your car well maintained. Watch out for other drivers. Never text or tweet while driving. Slow down, and avoid traffic violations.
At First Connect, we always respect your choice.
In the event of an accident, we will do everything possible to get you back on the road as quickly as possible. You have the right to choose the repair facility you want to repair your vehicle. We respect your choice, and our claims professionals are pleased to work with you for a smooth resolution.